Uncategorized

The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven (Guest Blogger!)

Hello fellow book lovers! Jessica and I have talked a lot about having guests come to review books on our blog. Well, we finally talked our goo friend Kate into doing it for us! So- without further ado:

My name is Kate.  I have never done a book review before, although I love to read and write so I hope I do this justice. Jessica and Mary are two great friends and I’m honored that they trust me enough to contribute to their blog.  I can always count on them to suggest great books for me to read and my already long “to read” list is a lot longer because of their suggestions.  I just can’t read fast enough!

I grew up Smoke_Signalsloving the movie “Smoke Signals.” I still count this movie in my top 5 favorite movies and re-watch it often.  I quote this movie all of the time, especially with my mom, much to the annoyance of other family members.  “Hey Victor!” and “John Wayne’s teeth, hey ya! John Wayne’s teeth! Are they fake or are they real? Are they wooden or maybe steel” are some of our favorites from the movie. I would recommend this movie for anyone, it is a funny and moving film.  I would also highly recommend the book it is based on, “The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven” by Sherman Alexie.

                 

The_Lone_Ranger_and_Tonto_Fistfight_in_Heaven
“I used to sleep with my books in piles all over my bed and sometimes they were the only thing keeping me alive. Books are the best and worst defense.”-The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven by Sherman Alexie

 

 

I wanted to read “The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven” for a long time and I finally got around to it. I really enjoyed this book. Rather than being a novel as I had expected, it is a collection of 22 short stories about the life of modern Native Americans. There are recurring characters that appear throughout the stories, Victor Joseph, Lester FallsApart, David WalksAlong, Junior Polanski,and Thomas Builds-the-Fire.  Sherman Alexei’s writing in this book verges more closely to poetry at times and while the characters are never fully fleshed out the stories are deeply thought provoking, touching, and full of dark humor.

Sherman Alexie vividly paints life on and off the reservation.  His stories are full of poverty, desperation, love, alcoholism, racial discrimination, survival, and imagination.  One of my favorite quotes from the book is, “Survival equals Anger x Imagination. Imagination is the only weapon on the reservation.”

“The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven” was a great book and I want to read more of Sherman Alexei’s works.  I thoroughly enjoyed this book and while this book was not always a happy and cheerful read it was easy to submerge into the narrative and relate to his many characters and their situations and to discover the heart breaking lives they lead. I learned a lot about Native American life that I had never considered before, such as just how desperately impoverished life on the reservation can be, the ongoing search for belonging and identity as they live both in the modern world and on the reservation, and the atrocities of forced sterilization. This book is insightful and can be brutally honest.  I think this is a book that should be read by everyone and it is often read in high school and college literature classes; however, this book does have some mature language in it so be aware of that.

Thanks a billion Kate! This will for sure be going on my ‘to read’ list! I have never even heard of this book before- or the movie! I think once I get my hands on a copy of this book we should have a girls night and watch the movie! To all you readers nearby- you are totally invited!

If anyone is interested in reviewing a book on our blog, we would love to have you! Comment or message us for more details!

1 thought on “The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven (Guest Blogger!)”

Leave a Reply

