Uncategorized

Don’t judge an author by their crappy book.

Last month I listened to one of the most pathetic books I had read in a very, very long time.  

I get a little passionate about how much I hate stupid teenager love triangle books. I’ll try to keep it low key.

  I HATE stupid teenager love triangle books!! They drive me CRAZY! I end up hating all of the characters. I was in a stupid love triangle drama at one point in my life- and the person I hated the very most was me. It was good for me because I learned how to not be a seriously jerky human being.  But I never ever want to relive that again!

So- reading books where the leading lady teenager girl represents the version of me that I had to live with for longer than I could almost stand, I just want to slap all of them and yell GROW UP!!!!

So- you can probably imagine how I felt about this book:

Yep. Hated it.

It’s one redeeming quality was that at least none of the characters had weird paranormal crap going on.

So many people had recommended this book to me I decided to dive into it without even knowing what it was about.

 Quick sum up- Cassia has been “Matched” to marry her best friend in a Giver kind of society. But, then she finds out she could have been matched with this outcast guy- (don’t even remember his name and I just don’t care enough to look it up). So Cassia and bad boy end up in this forbidden relationship all behind the back of her best friend who is madly in love with her. 

If you are into that plot line-  power to you. Go read it. You’ll love it! I won’t judge you. Jessica loved Twilight and I still love her. She just knows not to bring it up around me unless she wants an earful. Haha.

If you find yourself  nodding your head and wanting to shout “AMEN!” right now, I wrote a much more passionate rant about how I felt about this book on Goodreads that you are welcome to go read. 

For the purposes of today’s blog post though, just saying I didn’t like it is enough. 

 

Now, you might be shocked, probably not nearly as shocked as I was, when I decided to pick up another Ally Condie title.

No. It was not book 2 in the Matched trilogy. Cassia and her manly bad boy can go jump into a volcano for all I care. I’m over it. Never again!

No. I read her newer intermediate book. It has also been recommended to me by several people, and I just had to see if it was as bad. 


And I LOVED it! Truly loved it. 

Cedar’s family has moved to “Iron Creek” (fictional Cedar City for all you Utah peeps) for the summer after her dad and her brother were killed in a car crash. 

She is kind of a mess trying to deal with all of her loss. She makes a new friend,Leo, while working at a summer play festival “Summerlost” (aka The Shakespearean festival). 

I wondered if this was an autobiographical story. It was just so much more real. Where I wondered if Ally Condie had ever experienced a real solid relationship while reading Matched, this book left me having no doubt that Ally Condie has felt the sting of loss and the pain of picking up the pieces of a life that has been shattered.

I found it quite ironic that the characters in this book were a good five years younger than her Matched characters, but had infinetly more depth and maturity.

You saved yourself Ally Condie. This book was touching. 

I think maybe Ally Condie fell into the “write what the people want” trap. And the people loved it. But there is just a lot more to Ally Condie than Matched could bring to the table.

I sincerely hope she writes more contemporary fiction. I think her books are just going to be hit and miss with me.

What do you think? How did you feel about Matched? Have you read Summerlost? Am I being too harsh on YA teenagers? Do I take myself too seriously? Haha. Any comment will do. I am open for discussion. 

5 thoughts on “Don’t judge an author by their crappy book.”

  1. Ditto here .I did read all three books as I was living with 3 teen girls. I wanted to know if the books were ok for them to read. I don’t even remember how they ended .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve got to admit, there are some teenage love triangle books that I like, although it’s generally in spite of the love triangle rather than because of it. If it’s done realistically I tend to feel sick at the harm they’re all doing one another while they try to figure stuff out, but sometimes it ends with enough learned all around to satisfy me.
    I’ve read Matched. I didn’t hate it. I didn’t love it, but there are parts of it I liked. Most of what I remember from it are the smuggled literature and librarian with the passwords.
    There are parts, however, that I think are good for teens to encounter and think about: the way society dictates who belongs or doesn’t, the way we lie to ourselves to avoid difficult choices, the way we label people in order to simplify our perception of them.
    It’s got enough in there to make you think, if you can manage to look behind the love triangle of too-perfect people. My hope is that teens looking for something lighter will absorb these other ideas on the side. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love this! Thank you! Discussion is good!
      I don’t think that I got to the part you are talking about with the librarians. That must have been in the second and third books.
      You are absolutely right that those are things that teenagers need to think about. This book probably reached an audience that might not have otherwise found material that addresses those kinds of thought provoking problems!

      Like

Leave a Reply

