Uncategorized

I can’t read anymore!

Do you ever find yourself looking at the cover of a book that you have been wanting to read, but you just can’t find the desire to read at all?

Or, have you ever finished a book that had you completely wrapped up in it, and then thinking about reading anything else just depresses you because you know nothing will ever really compare?

That happened to me this week. In fact, even just thinking about writing about a book made me feel BLEH.

I started making this mental list of things I do whenever I don’t feel like reading. I decided rather than write about a book- today I would just write about what I do when I don’t feel like reading.

The thing is- I live on the dopamine that I get from finishing a book. When we say we are addicted- I think there might be a sad truth to it. I have this irrational fear that if I don’t at least have a book that I am planning on reading in the near future, my desire to read will die completely.

But, on the other hand, reading makes me feel really fulfilled. I am an adventurous person by nature. If I had the means, I would be traveling ALL the time. I LOVE learning about new places and cultures. I love learning about history.  I love listening to stories from people different from me. I So- for now- reading scratches that itch in me to go places. And then, when it is time for me to put the mom hat on, I can enjoy that more.

So- anyway, here is the list I have been working on. These are the things I do when I don’t feel like reading anymore.

  1. The obvious answer- I take a break. I put the book down guilt free. I put it on my “to read” list on goodreads. It will wait for me.
  2. I look for a good audiobook to listen to while I am cleaning, weeding, doing a puzzle, or exercising.
  3. I read a graphic novel, or a short intermediate aged book. (I just read Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier this morning. It took me about 20 minutes. It was excellent!  I plan on reading My Father’s Dragon by Ruth Stiles Gannett this week sometime.)
  4. I read to my kids. I read to my kids all the time anyways, but I pick out a bunch of super goofy picture books from the library and we have a book party. I never get tired of reading to my kids.
  5. I think Jessica would want me to say that I reread a book that I will never grow tired of. That’s what she would do. I don’t reread very often. So, this isn’t really one that I fall back on very often. But- it’s worth a shot.
  6. I watch a movie based on a book that I want to read. Sometimes watching a movie (depending on the movie of course) makes me feel excited enough about something that I find myself wanting to live in that world more.
  7. Lastly, I go to work and recommend books to other people who are in a different place than me. They WANT to read. And even though I don’t want to read, I have read a lot of things that I can tell them they can read. In that way, I can kind of be a travel agent. Sometimes driving someone to the airport can be almost as great as going yourself. haha. Maybe.

What do you do when you feel like you can’t read anymore?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

