Media Monday: Six of Crows (Jessica)

Hello all! Welcome back to another media Monday.  Today I am featuring the book Six of Crows by Leah Bardugo. I read this one a few days/weeks back and I liked the story and the characters.  I felt a little overwhelmed at the story at times because it jumps between 6 characters who all have mounds of emotional baggage.  Luckily there are some amazingly artistic people out there who have brought them to life.

Six of Crows centers around a rag-tag band of criminals who are basically trying to get as rich as possible and maybe save the world in the process.

sixocrows

This picture really captures each of their personalities.  You spend the whole book figuring each person out I don’t want to give any spoilers away.  I enjoyed the interactions between the characters and how they became a solid, if not totally cohesive unit at the end.

My favorite is their motto.  Friends be warned, I may start quoting this at every opportunity.

six-of-crows-no-mourners-no-funerals-prints

One of my favorite characters was Nina.  She was constantly witty and had such an interesting dynamic with Matthais.  Seriously had so much love/hate between the two, that I didn’t know how they were going to survive in the same group.  However, she was so quick with a joke and reminded me of my “gentle” teasing of my husband.

socquote

There is one more book in this “duology” and this occurs in the same universe as her Shadow and bone trilogy; both of which is currently on my overdrive.  Hopefully, I can spend the next few rainy days reading.

Have you read this one?  Thoughts, or any art work that you’ve found that you’ve loved?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Aaron Ludwig says:

    Love those illustrations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

