#TBT Walk Two Moons (Jessica)

Hello All!  For today’s throwback Thursday I wanted to bring to your attention Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech.  I can’t remember exactly when I first read this book.  I think I was about 11.  This was the first book I can remember that made me cry.  Also, this is the first time  encountered an unreliable narrator.  I remember being blown away by what I thought as a huge twist ending.

twist

The book centers around Salamanca Tree who wants to go on a journey to find her mother.  She recruits her wacky grandparents and meets some friends along the way.  This coming-of-age story resonated with me because she alternates between longing for her mother and anger at the abandonment. As an daughter with a fraught relationship with my mother, I related on a very real level.

mommyissues

But don't we all, maybe a little?

This book helped me to realize that sometimes bad things happen and that you can still approach your life with humor and an adventurous spirit.  Salamanca knows what she wants and best of all, what she needs and faces her fears to achieve her goals.  She helped me as a child to realize that there’s hope even in the darkest of times and that I would have to stretch to find my joy.

5 Stars, I own and I can’t wait until I can share this book with my children.  10+, deals with death.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kate says:

    I love this book too! It made me sob when I read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

