The Lake House (Mary’s pick)

 

 

Remember that kind of lame movie with Sandra Bullock and Keanu Reeves? The one where they are writing lame letters back and forth to each other and they have this kind of lame love story. And then at the lame end you just find yourself wondering how you possibly had stayed awake during the whole thing?  (Don’t feel bad if you like it. I have probably watched it five times…)

Well, this book is NOT that story. It’s a whole lot of NOT lame. It’s incredible!

I know they say you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but I think that was before they started making AWESOME covers.

Sixteen year old Alice Edevane lives with her family in a large mansion in England, somewhat separated from the rest of the real world by a forest. Their life seems idyllic and some would say perfect. But, one day their lives are torn to pieces when Alice’s 11-month-old brother, Theo, goes missing.

More than fifty years later, the case has still not been solved, but a young detective named Sadie Sparrow has found herself out of work for a number of weeks, and decides to investigate the cold case.

Kate Morton is a masterful storyteller! The plot itself was quite compelling, but Morton’s real talent lies in creating beautiful and rich characters. The book spans nearly a century as we follow a variety of characters through events before and after Theo’s disappearance. Each character becomes so real to you, it’s hard to close the last page of the book knowing it’s means saying goodbye to them.

To be quite honest with you, this wasn’t really my pick. When I am reading what I want to read, 95% of the time I pick up some intermediate fiction. I love a good coming of age story. But, because only 50% of my time at the library I am helping intermediate aged readers, I try to stay well-rounded. This was the book that was chosen for our library’s book club book for January.

I took one look at the thick book (606 pages!) and said “There is no way this is happening” and put it back on the shelf. But, I was encouraged again and again to give it a try. So, I do what I do when I can’t seem to get into a book. I pulled out a 1,000 piece puzzle, and turned on the audiobook. I am SO glad that I did! If you find yourself in the same predicament, I HIGHLY recommend the audio. It was so well done.

This book will completely pull you into its world. If you are wanting to get lost in a powerful story full of history, love, and some mystery, this is the book for you!

A SOLID 5 STARS!

 

 

Leave a Reply

