(Mary’s pick) The Little Prince

For my first book review, I’d like to tell you about an oldie, but a goody.

It’s an oldie because it was first published in 1943. It was originally written in French, but has been translated into English. I’ve been meaning to read it for at least a decade now, but I wasn’t until last week that I finally started it.

The Little Prince 

by Antoine De Saint-Exupery

littleprinceDeep in space, on asteroid B-612, lives a little prince. His life is very simple. He spends his days cleaning out his two volcanoes, plucking baobab tree shoots, and staring out into the wide expanse of stars and planets. But things begin to change when a new type of plant grows on his asteroid. A flower. The flower is complex and somewhat emotional. It requires a particular amount of care and protection.

This begins the journey for enlightenment for the little prince. We are introduced to a fun variety of characters with differing ideas about power, priorities, and the purpose of life. The story is childlike in it’s simplicity, but there are some very deep thoughts. The author is also very witty. It is a fun read.

The book was highly allegorical. The writing reminded me a bit of CS Lewis. The characters and events seemed disconnected until I started to piece together what different characters and objects represented. There are some truly EXCELLENT quotes. This book had some unique approaches to some basic ideas that kind of stick with you.

My mom tried to get me to read this book when I was probably 12 years old. It looked super boring to me. Honestly, I’m glad I held off until now. I would not have understood.

The reason that I finally came back to this book was because of the new animated version that I recently watched on Netflix. I was surprised how much I enjoyed the first half hour of it. I stopped the movie before it got too far along because I decided I wanted to read the book first. Now that I have read it, I want to go back and finish the movie.

Click here for a preview.

The_Little_Prince_(2015_film)_poster.png

It’s a super quick read. It took me all of an hour and a half. I highly recommend you read it. But, I would suggest you wait until you have a nice quiet place to do it. You’ll want to stop and reflect for a while.

I give it a solid 5 stars.

If you have read The Little Prince, but it was completely lost on you- I recommend checking out 10 Crucial Life Lessons about growing up from The Little Prince.  I have to admit, only about 80% of the book really sank in.  There are still somethings I have to mull over. This site was was little illuminating though.

If you have read it- tell us what you think! Did you like it? Hate it? Read it for fun or for school? We’d love to hear from you.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Aaron Ludwig says:

    Great review! Honestly I read this in 9th grade and didn’t understand much at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The earlier movie is the stuff of nightmares.

      Like

Leave a Reply

